Atul’s Song A Day- A choice collection of Hindi Film & Non-Film Songs

Mera haseen saathhi hai meri baahon mein

Posted on: November 2, 2011


This article is written by Sudhir, a fellow enthusiast of Hindi movie music and a regular contributor to this blog.

A change in sequencing – I pulled this song up from later in sequence to today, and I shall explain. This song is simply THE most favorite soft romantic song of mine. This write up is about my search for this song, that suddenly culminated today as I finally located a very recently posted video of this song on YouTube.

I heard this song once, just once, on the radio, when it was released. I was a school going kid then, and this song enchanted me so much that it got committed to memory, words, music, sound everything just on that one hearing. After that I used to sing this song often, especially when I would feel romantic – which would be often during the school and college years ;). But I never ever did get a chance to listen to it again, for years. It just simply disappeared. I had no clue as to its identity in terms of film name or other info, and just that it is Mukesh ji’s voice was the only information that I carried with me. When I would sing or discuss this song, most people would raise their hands in ignorance, and ask me the same questions about this song that I too was asking. Then after many years, I was able to get some information about this song through an article on Mukesh ji’s songs. The movie got identified. The film is “Yeh Sach Hai” (1975). Armed with this information, I renewed my search, but again just a stonewall. Practically all sources that I tried, had either never heard of this film, or if the film was listed, it was just the name and the year – no additional information.

Then just about a year back I located a webpage that purported to show the video of this film. Excitedly I got to the page, only to find that the video had been withdrawn (no, it was not on YouTube, but on the Hindi films video streaming site BigFlix). Alas, no luck to get to the song once again, but finally I got a little more additional information from the page in terms of lyricist, composer and on screen actors. A small consolation. I did check with my collector friend, but even he did not have this song. Finally, in communications with another Hindi film songs buff online, the mention of this song turned up totally out of context, and this nice gentleman agreed to send me an audio of this song. Finally, I had the song in my hands. This transaction happened in February earlier this year, and it is since that time that I have been planning this short series of write ups on rare Mukesh songs. I have been intermittently checking online, but this song has never appeared online.

But today, again that thing happened. While looking for something else, I suddenly bumped into the video clip of this song, and finally I got to see it’s on screen presentation. This clip is published as recently as 22Aug2011, just about two months ago. The clip shows that the disc of this film has been released by T-Series, and a benevolent soul has taken the trouble to publish it. As I then went after more info, I find that the entire film has been posted on YouTube by Rajshri.com, once again very recent posting – 12Oct2011, just twenty days ago. Well now we have the entire package. And so today, I have a lot more information to share about this film.

The film is produced by Nitin Films International (Bombay), produced by IM Kunnu and directed by BR Ishara. The star cast includes Rehana Sultana, Mrinal Mukherjee, Sarita, Manmohan Krishan, Asit Sen, Abhijeet Sen, Johnny Whisky and many more names that are not very familiar. The lyrics are credited to Naqsh aka Naqsh Lyallpuri. The music is composed by Brij Bhushan. The name may sound unfamiliar but it is not new to this blog. Readers may recall the iconic song from the film Milaap (1972) – “Kai Sadiyon Se, Kai Janmon Se” also rendered by Mukesh ji.

The film purports to be a psycho thriller. The leading lady, Priya (role played by Rehana Sultana) is the daughter of Rajnath Singh, a millionaire (role played by Manmohan Krishan). There are some undisclosed events in Priya’s past, and she suffers from hallucinations and is on the verge of insanity. After trying many treatments, Mr. Singh engages Dr. Anant Mukherjee (role played by Mrinal Mukherjee), a young psychologist, to treat his daughter. The doctor comes to stay with the family, and the film is about trying to understand and to uncover the past that haunts Priya. One of the methods that Dr. Anant uses is to approach Priya in a romantic way, to try to make her open up and reveal more about herself and her past.

This song is in the storyline for that purpose. (Dr. Anant is actually romantically involved with Kamini (role played by Sarita) who is a nurse engaged by Mr. Singh to take care of Priya.) By all accounts, the film is very unconvincing and very unwatchable. But lo, this song, it is a gem of gems. The visuals are not handled well, and a lovely song as this is a waste on the situation as well as the actors. (The song is better heard without the video).

Enjoy this wonderful gem, my favorite, my recommendation. 🙂

mera haseen saathi hai meri baahon mein
bahaaro so jaao, nazaaro so jaao
miley pyaar ke raahi nai raahon mein
bahaaro so jaao, nazaaro so jaao

My enchanting companion is in my arms today
Let the spring and its beautiful vistas fade away in sleep
(they aren’t needed today)
Travelers of the passage of love have come together on new pathways today
Let the spring and its beautiful vistas fade away in sleep

kabhi mere shaanon pe khuley baalon ki ghataa sharmaayee hai
kabhi jhuki palkon ki adaa sharmaayee hai
pyaar se bhi sharmaaye, ke humdum meraa hai sharmeelaa

Sometimes, the flowing tresses of my beloved, bashfully come to rest on my shoulders
And sometimes it is the coy eyelids, timidly lowered
Behold, my bashful beloved is shy of being in love

koi yahaan na aaye idhar na dekhey to pyaar sajaa loon mein
jawaan jawaan tanhaai zaraa mehkaa loon mein
jaagti se aankhon mein koi sapnaa hai adhuraa saa

Let no one trespass this way, nor any glances steal their way through here
That I may adorn my beloved to my heart’s content
That I may enfold this discrete togetherness in the aromas of love
Such a dream abounds incomplete, in my half awake eyes

Audio

Video

Song-Mera haseen saathi hai meri baahon mein ( Ye Sach Hai)(1975) Singer-Mukesh, Lyrics-Naqsh Llayalpuri, MD-Brij Bhushan

Lyrics

ho o o o

mera haseen saathi hai meri baahon mein
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
miley pyaar ke raahi nai raahon mein
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao

kabhi mere shaanon pe
khuley baalon ki
ghataa sharmaayee hai
kabhi jhuki palkon ki adaa sharmaayee hai
kabhi mere shaanon pe
khuley baalon ki
ghataa sharmaayee hai
kabhi jhuki palkon ki adaa sharmaayee hai
pyaar se bhi sharmaaye
ke humdum meraa hai sharmeelaa
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
mera haseen saathi hai meri baahon mein
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao

koi yahaan na aaye
idhar na dekhey
to pyaar sajaa loon main
jawaan jawaan tanhaai
zaraa mehkaa loon main
koi yahaan na aaye
idhar na dekhey
to pyaar sajaa loon main
jawaan jawaan tanhaai
zaraa mehkaa loon main
jaagti si aankhon mein
koi sapnaa hai
adhooraa saa
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
mera haseen saathi hai meri baahon mein
bahaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao
nazaaron so jaao

4 Responses to "Mera haseen saathhi hai meri baahon mein"

Sudhir bhai

Aapke article padthe samay aisa lagtha hai ke aap saamne baitkar mujhse baat kar rahe hain., gaana tho achcha hai hi,par gaane se zyada mujhe aapki article bhaa gayee.

Likhne ke liye nahin likh raha hoon, sachchi mein, aap jaise feelings ko lafzon mein baandhkar likhna har kisike bas ki baat nahin.
God bless you .

prakash

Like

@Sudhir
I can’t help making one comment – your translations are almost always more lyrical and beautiful than the original. Congratulations.

Like

Hi, just came across this blog today and have already bookmarked it.

Thank you for introducing me to “Mera Haseen Saathi” – had never heard the song before; I am glad I did today!

Look forward exploring more tunes.

Like

Prakash ji, AK ji,

Thanks so much for your comments of appreciation (sorry for the delayed response :), I am lagging behind in responding to comments for last couple of weeks).

Thanks again 🙂

Zanyme,
Welcome to the blog; I am sure you will find a veritable treasure of old Hindi film songs on this web site.

Rgds
Sudhir

Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

What is this blog all about

This blog discusses Bollywood songs of yesteryears. Every song has a brief description, followed by a video link, and complete lyrics of the song.

This is a labour of love, where “new” songs are added every day, and that has been the case for over FIFTEEN years. This blog has over 18300 song posts by now.

This blog is active and online for over 5000 days since its beginning on 19 july 2008.

Important Announcement

(© 2008 - 2024) atulsongaday.me The content of this site is copyrighted and it may not be reproduced elsewhere without prior consent from the site/ author of the content.

Total number of songs posts discussed

18306

Number of movies covered in the blog

Movies with all their songs covered =1411
Total Number of movies covered=4951

Total visits so far

  • 16,473,389 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,005 other subscribers

Bookmark

Bookmark and Share

Category of songs

Current Visitors

Historical dates

Blog Start date: 19 july 2008

Active for more than 5000 days.

Archives

Stumble

visitors whereabouts

blogadda

blogcatalog

Music Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory